“So Jesus had compassion on them, and touched their eyes: and immediately their eyes received sight, and they followed Him.” Matthew 20:34

While Matthew is recording an instance where Jesus literally gave two men the gift of sight, I find much more in this verse.

1. Jesus had compassion on them:

Jesus Christ had compassion on my unworthy, tarnished, and sinful soul. Long before we came into existence, Christ had so much compassion for us that He gave His life that we might one day join Him in Heaven.

Notice the word “might.” He was humiliated, beaten, and crucified. He willingly gave His life on Calvary because He was willing to save you, even though you may never accept Him. He loved you so much that He didn’t want you to suffer in your sin.That’s compassion.

compassion-of-Christ-quote-8.30.13

2. …and touched their eyes:

When I was a child, I lived for Vacation Bible School. My siblings, cousins, and I would pile onto whatever church bus drove by our house, just for a chance to be at VBS. One year in particular, we found ourselves at a VBS with the theme “The War.”

It was long ago, and my memory is horrible, but something at this VBS touched me. I remember leaving the worship area and praying with one of the leaders. This is when Jesus touched my eyes.

If you truly think about it, there is probably a point in your life when you felt the call to be saved. There is a 99% chance that Jesus was touching your eyes.

527ac84c7103c1a30d0186b8ee628694

3. and immediately their eyes received sight, and they followed Him:

The day I received my sight is the day I accepted the Lord. After getting saved during that VBS, I soon became obsessed with the Bible and learning more. I took my first steps toward following Him.

I could have chosen not to receive the sight He gifted to me. Which, sadly, is what many people do. Don’t let that happen to you. Receive the sight and follow him.

Don’t be panicked by the idea of starting a new life and changing everything about yourself. Accepting the new eyes of salvation isn’t a contract to be a completely new person overnight. That takes work. Work that can only be done from within; work that can only be done while following Jesus.

Working on my faith is a daily battle. Seeing myself as the sins I commit could easily keep me from walking forward with Him. I’m unworthy of everything He has given me. Still, I’m given access to it all.

He sees what you can be, through all of your faults and sins. That’s why you have to walk with Him to let Him work in you.

Leave a Reply

